Skip to main content Skip to footer

What is Release Equity?

Equity release involves turning equity in your property into disposable cash. It is an option often used by those aged 55 and above as a way of making their retirement more comfortable by providing the finances to improve their standard of living, travel, make home improvements or help their children out financially.

The amount of equity in your property is calculated by removing any remaining mortgage from the value of your property.

Being a specialist area of conveyancing law, at Rotheras our experienced advisors are experts in releasing the equity in your property whilst ensuring your finances remain secure.

Why use Rotheras for Equity Release?

Our conveyancing team are based across our seven branch offices located around Nottingham.

We will work in collaboration with your financial advisor, or we have a network of financial advisors we can recommend to you.

We work in close conjunction with our Wills, Probate and Trusts and Family Law departments where required so we can provide you with thorough information.

You will be assigned a team member who specialises in equity release and given their direct contact details.

We can advise if you are looking to use this service to finance the purchase or sale of a property.

We can also advise on transferring an existing equity release scheme to another property.

Contact our Conveyancing Team

Send us a message

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

“We explain costs
clearly – so there’s no
hidden surprises”

Michelle Young
Head of Conveyancing

If you’re happy then we’re happy too.

4.8 165 reviews

Posted 27 January 2020

This was my first experience using a solicitor, something I felt quite daunted about. Rothera Sharp (Greg and Petra) put me at ease and were very helpful.

Mollie Fish

Posted 27 January 2020

Last year I experienced a car accident, as a front seat passenger. I put forward a personal injury claim with Rothera Sharp. From start to finish, my claim has been dealt with efficiently and professionally, and I have always felt my best interests were considered. All communications were made via letter or email to inform me of all further updates. My claim has now come to an end and I am very happy with the overall outcome. I would recommend Rothera Sharp for their service.

Samya Green

Posted 4 February 2020

We cannot recommend Chris Powell of Rothera Sharp more highly. Mr Powell demonstrated the upmost professionalism with a high level of knowledge of the area for which he was representing us. Anyone needing representation/advice regarding the area of haulage will find that Chris Powell and Rothera Sharp are the best choice.

Karen Walker

Posted 4 February 2020

Claim dealt with efficiently and to a satisfactory conclusion. Wayne Vickers visited me at home initially and explained everything thoroughly. Professional service throughout. Recommended

Clare Stevens

Contact our Conveyancing Team
Conveyancing
Antony Fyson

Antony Fyson

a.fyson@rotheras.co.uk

Antony Fyson is a Partner and heads up the Long Eaton branch Office of Rotheras Solicitors and offers clients a wealth of expertise in Commercial Property and Conveyancing matters.

Duncan Godfrey

Duncan Godfrey

d.godfrey@rotheras.co.uk

Duncan Godfrey is a Probate, Trusts and Residential Conveyancing Solicitor at Nottingham based Rotheras Solicitors and is located at our offices in the Lace Market and Burton Joyce.

Greg Tring

Greg Tring

g.tring@rotheras.co.uk

Greg Tring specialises in all aspects of residential conveyancing and regularly acts for clients on sales, purchases, remortgages and transfer of equity and is part of one of the largest conveyancing teams across the East Midlands.

Michelle Young

Michelle Young

m.young@rotheras.co.uk

Michelle Young is a residential property specialist and heads up the residential property team at Nottingham-based law firm Rotheras Solicitors.

Lucy Pettitt

Lucy Pettitt

l.pettitt@rotheras.co.uk

Lucy Pettitt has amassed over 12 years of experience in all aspects of Conveyancing.

Lucy Walker

Lucy Walker

l.walker@rotheras.co.uk

Lucy Walker is a residential conveyancing associate and is based at Rotheras Mapperley office.

Emily Weston

Emily Weston

e.weston@rotheras.co.uk

Emily Weston is as an Associate Solicitor in the Residential Conveyancing team and is based primarily at our Beeston office.

Kate Barry

Kate Barry

k.barry@rotheras.co.uk

Kate Barry is a Solicitor in the residential property department at Rotheras and is based at our firm’s Long Eaton Office.

Kerry Brown

Kerry Brown

k.brown@rotheras.co.uk

Kerry Brown is a residential property specialist at Nottingham-based law firm Rotheras Solicitors.

Ruth Pilling

Ruth Pilling

r.pilling@rotheras.co.uk

Ruth is a Conveyancing Executive at Rotheras and is based at our Mapperley office.

Jan Raszyk

Jan Raszyk

j.raszyk@rotheras.co.uk

Jan Raszyk is a Conveyancer in Rotheras Residential Conveyancing department.

Kerry Redfern

Kerry Redfern

k.redfern@rotheras.co.uk

Kerry Redfern is a residential property specialist at Nottingham-based law firm Rotheras Solicitors.

Chloe Smart

Chloe Smart

c.smart@rotheras.co.uk

Chloe Smart is a Licensed Conveyancer in the residential property department at Rotheras and is based at our Lace Market Office.

Sally Cooper

Sally Cooper

s.cooper@rotheras.co.uk

Sally is our first point of contact for any new conveyancing enquiries that come in to the department and provides a bespoke quoting service for prospective clients, estate agents and other referrers of work.

Penelope Baird

Penelope Baird

p.baird@rotheras.co.uk

Penelope Baird is a Paralegal in Rotheras residential conveyancing department and is based at our Long Eaton office

Vicki Ettles

Vicki Ettles

v.ettles@rotheras.co.uk

Vicki Ettles is a Paralegal in the residential conveyancing department at Rotheras and is based at our Long Eaton office.

Brett James

Brett James

b.james@rotheras.co.uk

Brett James is a Conveyancing and Wills and Probate Paralegal at Rotheras Solicitors and is based at our Lace Market office.

Emily Kevan

Emily Kevan

e.kevan@rotheras.co.uk

Emily Kevan is a residential property and commercial property paralegal at Rotheras. She is based at our Lace Market office in the heart of Nottingham city centre.

Sara Lockton

Sara Lockton

s.lockton@rotheras.co.uk

Sara Lockton is a Paralegal in the residential conveyancing department at Rotheras and is based at our West Bridgford office.

Grace Millward

Grace Millward

g.millward@rotheras.co.uk

Grace Millward is a Paralegal in Rotheras Residential Conveyancing department and is based at the Beeston office.

Hollie Moore

Hollie Moore

h.moore@rotheras.co.uk

Hollie Moore is a Paralegal in the Conveyancing department.

Ellie Robinson

Ellie Robinson

em.robinson@rotheras.co.uk

Ellie Robinson is a Paralegal in the residential conveyancing department at Rotheras and is based at our Lace Market office.

Holly Setchfield

Holly Setchfield

h.setchfield@rotheras.co.uk

Holly is a paralegal who assists Head of Department Michelle Young and Kerry Brown at the West Bridgford office.

News

The Impact of Covid-19 on Separated and Divorced Parents

Rotheras Trainee Solicitor Jasmine Jackson outlines the potential impacts of the COVID-19 outbreak on divorced and separated parents. Highlighting in particular some of the challenges they may face in regard to child arrangement orders.

Person at his desk with their head in their arms visually stressed. post-it note on his head reading

Coronavirus (Covid-19): the impact on your commercial contracts

The outbreak of Covid-19 has had a significant impact on business; trade and commerce has been affected to an unprecedented degree. This downturn has had a detrimental impact on our economy, which in turn has impacted business, trade and commerce.

Find out how Rotheras can help you